News & Articles

Steppenwolf examines The Pain and the Itch

Chicago—Steppenwolf Theatre Company concludes the 2004-2005 subscription season with The Pain and the Itch, by Bruce Norris, directed by ensemble member Anna D. Shapiro. Featuring ensemble members Tracy Letts and Mariann Mayberry, The Pain and the Itch begins performances on June 30, 2005, in the Steppenwolf Downstairs Theatre. The Pain and the Itch is a darkly funny, bitingly insightful comedy examining one family’s dysfunction and darkest secrets during a particularly interesting Thanksgiving. The cast of The Pain and the Itch includes ensemble members Tracy Letts (Cash) and Mariann Mayberry (Kelly), with Lillian Almaguer and Darragh Quinn Dolan (Kayla), Kate Arrington (Kalina), James Vincent Meredith (Mr. Hadid) and Zak Orth (Clay) and Jayne Houdyshell (Carol). The designers of The Pain and the Itch are Dan Ostling (sets), James F. Ingalls (lights), Janice Pytel (costumes) and Robert Milburn and Michael Bodeen (sound). The stage manager is Robert Satterlee. Michelle Medvin is the assistant stage manager and Edward Sobel is the production dramaturg. Title: The Pain and the Itch Playwright: Bruce Norris Director: ensemble member Anna D. Shapiro Location: Steppenwolf Downstairs Theatre, 1650 N. Halsted Dates: Previews: June 30-July 9, 2005 Opening: Sunday, July 10, 2005 at 6:00 p.m. Regular Run: July 12-August 28, 2005 Times: Tuesday through Sunday at 7:30 p.m., Saturday and Sunday matinees at 3:00 p.m. Wednesday matinees on August 10, 17 and 24 at 2:00 p.m. There will be no Sunday evening performances on August 14, 21 and 28. Tickets: $20.00-$60.00; Twenty $20 tickets are available at Audience Services beginning at 11:00 a.m. on the day of the performance. Committed to the principle of ensemble performance through the collaboration of a company of actors, directors and playwrights, Steppenwolf Theatre Company’s mission is to advance the vitality and diversity of American theater by nurturing artists, encouraging repeatable creative relationships, and contributing new works to the national canon. The company, formed in 1976 by a collective of actors, is dedicated to perpetuating an ethic of mutual respect and the development of artists through ongoing group work. Steppenwolf has grown into an internationally renowned company of thirty-six artists whose talents include acting, directing, playwriting, filmmaking and textual adaptation.