Celebrating over 30 years of Arts Education

The Steppenwolf for Young Adults performance series brings high-quality theater to artistically curious young adults across Chicago through two full-scale shows each year. These shows are performed during the week for students and opened up to the public during weekend matinees.

2018/19 Season

Two incredible journeys of young people discovering what they are capable of and the depths (and heights) to which they're prepared to go.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

Adapted by Simon Stephens
Based on the book by Mark Haddon
Directed by Jonathan Berry

Based on the critically acclaimed book by Mark Haddon, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time focuses on Christopher, a young boy with an extraordinary brain and an exceptional talent for mathematics. When the neighbor’s dog Wellington is found dead, Christopher launches an investigation into the mystery surrounding the dog’s murder. As he searches for the truth on his first ever excursion by himself, he uncovers surprises about himself and his family, exploring the hidden secrets and challenges in everyday life.

Recommended for grades 8+

Student performances will be held: Wednesday, October 3; Thursday, October 4; Friday, October 5; Tuesday, October 9; Wednesday, October 10; Thursday, October 11; Friday, October 12; Tuesday, October 16; Wednesday, October 17; Thursday, October 18; Friday, October 19; Tuesday, October 23; Wednesday, October 24; Thursday, October 25 and Friday, October 26.

More Info

WE ARE PROUD TO PRESENT A PRESENTATION ABOUT THE HERERO OF NAMIBIA, FORMERLY KNOWN AS SOUTHWEST AFRICA, FROM THE GERMAN SÜDWESTAFRIKA, BETWEEN THE YEARS 1884–1915

By Jackie Sibblies Drury
Co-directed by Hallie Gordon and Gabrielle Randle

When a group of actors gathers together to give a presentation about a long-forgotten—or possibly never remembered—genocide, they realize that summaries based on history books aren’t nearly enough to capture the complexity of human extermination—or human interaction. We Are Proud to Present a Presentation… tells the story of what happens when, in an effort to dig deeper, the nobly intentioned ensemble crashes into their own simmering fears and unconscious prejudices, coming face to face with the potential for brutality in all of us.

Recommended for grades 9+

Student performances will be held: Wednesday, February 27; Thursday, February 28; Friday, March 1; Tuesday, March 5; Wednesday, March 6; Thursday, March 7; Friday, March 8; Tuesday, March 12; Wednesday, March 13; Thursday, March 14; and Friday, March 15.

More Info

GROUP TICKETS FOR PUBLIC PERFORMANCES AND STUDENT MATINEES

Group tickets for public performances and student matinees are now on sale.

To book group tickets to a public performance:
To book a group of 10 or more, email groups@steppenwolf.org or call 312–392–2422.

To book group tickets to a student matinee:
Tickets for student matinee performances (Tuesdays-Fridays at 10am) are on sale now for just $7.50. To book your tickets today, follow the steps below.

  1. Check out the performance calendar for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime and We Are Proud to Present a Presentation...
  2. Fill out the quick pre-registration survey, making sure to let us know which shows you want to attend, any days you cannot attend, and how many students you are interested in bringing (make sure to cross reference these dates against your school calendar)
  3. Confirm your field trip date—once we receive your pre registration survey, a staff member will follow up to confirm a date that works for you and provide you with a contract for your tickets.